Showing posts with label how to. Show all posts
Showing posts with label how to. Show all posts

Monday 23 January 2017

Manage Unmatched Ad Requests to Increase AdSense Earnings

Before we start to manage the unmatched ad requests of Google AdSense, we should have a clear understanding about the meaning and reasons of Unmatched Ad Requests.

What is Unmatched Ad Requests? If an ad request has no targeting type or there are more ad requests than matched requests i.e. coverage is not 100%, you will see an Unmatched Ad Requests in a separate row of your AdSense performance report.

Actually, whenever any webpage of your AdSense approved site loads, an ad request is sent to the Google AdSense to serve advertisements to the specified Ad spaces/slots on that particular webpage. Thereafter, AdSense automatically delivers ads that are targeted to contents or users/audiences of your website.

I noticed that there are mainly three report types in which the unmatched requests displayed viz. (a) Ad types, (b) Bid types and (c) Targeting types. Accordingly, the coverage of the AdSense ads is not 100% in these types of performance reports as a new row for Unmatched Ad Request appears.

Now, the question arise that whether the unmatched ad requests hurt the publishers? Yes! It is crystal clear that AdSense unmatched ad requests have very bad impacts on AdSense earnings of the publishers. This is because your webpage ad spaces are not fully covered by AdSense ads and therefore you got less impressions and clicks resulting less revenue.

How to manage Unmatched Ad Requests of Google AdSense?

I analyse my ad performance for a month and apply some logical tricks to reduce AdSense unmatched ad requests. After doing some A/B testing in my AdSense ad units I got the solution which not only increased my AdSense earnings but also I noticed that my AdSense ad performance report is more informative and accurate than previous months.

I, therefore sharing to all my site readers the main key areas which you should consider to reduce the unmatched ad requests of AdSense. Please fill free to share your own experience which may help me and other AdSense publishers regarding this issue in AdSense performance reports.

1) AdSense Link Units:
Google AdSense link units display a number of topics which are relevant to your website contents and closely targeted to the interests of your users. The number of topics depends on the ad size (Horizontal or Vertical) you choose from ad size option. In horizontal ad size there are four ad topics and in the vertical ad size you will see only three ad topics.

AdSense counts matched ad requests in a different way in case of link units appears on your site. This is why 80-85 per cent of unmatched ad requests occurs due to the way AdSense counts matched requests for ad link units.

Actually, unless your site visitors not click on the topics/terms of the link unit, they would not see any advertisements associated with the respective topics of your link units and it results unmatched ad requests.

In other words, if the audience of your particular webpage doesn’t click, the ad request is considered unmatched i.e. a matched ad request for a link unit is only counted by AdSense if and only if the user clicks on a term in the link unit.

Therefore, I recommend you to remove all link units from your site unless it generates high or potential AdSense revenue in comparison to the other AdSense Ad units of your site. Generally, AdSense link unit best fits for mobile and small ad space available on your website.

As unmatched ad requests displays in a separate row in the AdSense performance report you may ignore while analysing the performance of a particular ad unit or custom channel.

2) AdSense Ad Types:
There are various types of AdSense ads e.g. text ads, image ads, rich media ads, flash ads, animated ads etc. and you may choose what type of ads to be displayed or served on your website. These ad types are however grouped into mainly two categories viz. Text Ads and Display Ads.

Many AdSense publishers preferred any one type of ads (Text Ads or Display Ads) should appears on their site. I don’t know why they would like to see only one type of ads on their webpage. Suppose, if you prefer only text ads then all those advertisers who wants to target for displaying their image/rich media type ads on your site will not be able to bid for your website/blog.

As a result of which either your webpage serve low quality/minimum bidding ads or it may results Unmatched Ad Requests and there will be no ad appears/displayed on your site. Therefore, my highly recommendation for you is that you must choose for both ad types text ads as well as display ads to be served on your site.

How to enable both ad types of Google AdSense Ads:

A) While Creating New AdSense Ad Unit:

Go to my ads tab then click on +New ad unit and then choose both text & display ads under Ad type option as shown in this screenshot.

B) Existing AdSense Ad Unit:

Visit My ads tab in your AdSense account and then click on the Edit ad type text link of your particular Ad unit. Now, just select Text & display ads from the pop-up window appears after click as shown in this screenshot.

Edit-AdSense-Ad-Types

3) Allow and Block Ads:
Google AdSense has provided the facility to their publishers to block ads from appearing on their site. In other words, you may choose/decide which advertisement should be displayed on your website.

Accordingly, you may allow or block ads leading to specific URLs or general/sensitive categories of ads in any supported languages from appearing on your site. Additionally, AdSense facilitates their publishers to review all advertisements that appear on their site.

I recommend you to not block unnecessarily any advertisement as because it may help in increasing bid prices and number of targeted ads available for a particular ad unit.

I think this tutorial may help in decreasing the unmatched ad requests appears in your Google AdSense performance report. However, please fill free to ask any question relevant to this tutorial by your precious comments.

15 Ways to Increase CPC Rates for Improving AdSense Earnings



CPC stands for Cost-Per-Click sometimes known as pay-per-click (PPC) i.e. the amount which has to be paid by the advertisers for a single click on their Ads running on your particular webpage. Consequently, it is nothing but the costs incurred by advertisers in one hand and on the other hand it is revenue for Google AdSense Publishers.

You may say that AdSense CPC (cost-per-click) rates will depends on the advertisers bidding (Automatic and Manual) for your site/blog. Accordingly, you have not directly control over the CPC rates and therefore you should have to care about some areas which indirectly helps to increase the CPC rates.

You should also keep in mind that whatever CPC rates you are seeing in your AdSense performance report is not the actual CPC that advertisers are paying for a single click. Actually, it equals to only 68 percent of actual cost-per-click rate. This is because of Google AdSense revenue share (Payments) i.e. Google kept 32% of actual revenue you have earned for displaying ads with AdSense for content. Similarly, for AdSense for search, publishers receive only 51% of the revenue recognized by Google.

Increase_AdSense_CPC_Rates

Now, the question arises what should be done by the AdSense publishers to increase CPC rates so that their AdSense Ads will fetch for revenue. Based on my personal experience, I am sharing some practical and more genuine guidelines to all of you which may help in increasing your AdSense CPC rates to earn more from Google AdSense.





In my opinion, our ultimate target should be to attract more advertisers to increase tough competition among them resulting more CPC rates they have to pay for appearing on our sites/blogs. However, you may consider following factors that may either directly or indirectly helps to increase your AdSense CPC rates:

1) Link Your AdSense Account with Google Analytics for higher CPC Rates

Yes, this is the latest simple trick I applied last month and got an increased CPC rates reflected in my AdSense performance report. In Google Analytics AdSense report you will find the particular webpage which gets more clicks apart from the sources generating more revenue for your site.

That means you may filter the report to find out which webpage have greater CPC rates in compare to others using MS Excel. Thus, you have to write more contents related to that particular webpage topic which have higher CPC rates. However, if you are not familiar with MS-Excel then hire me at a reasonable cost.

2) Create Custom Channel for Ad Units to increase CPC Rates

This is one of my preferred tips to increase my AdSense CPC. The main reason behind creating custom channel is to get more targeted ads for the webpage of your sites/blogs. More targeted ads means more bidders/advertisers resulting more amount of money they have to budget for paying cost-per-click by them for appearing on particular a webpage.

3) Enable both Image and Text Ads types to get High CPC Rates

Generally, there are five types of AdSense Ads viz. Text, Image, Animated image, Rich media and Flash. All those Ad types are categorized into two types one is Text Ads and another is Display Ads.

I strongly, recommend all of you to enable both Text & Display Ads types for your all AdSense Ad Units. It will increase the number of advertisers to your site ensuing higher CPC rates for them.

4) Use Higher Performing Ad Format to boost CPC rates

We always confuse about the ad sizes to be used on our blog/site so that we get increased AdSense revenue. Actually, it depends on your website layout and Ad slots you have already created for showing AdSense Ads. But, I will recommend all of you to use Leaderboard (728 x 90), Medium (300 x 250) and Large (336 x 280) rectangle, Large skyscraper (300 x 600) and for mobile webpage use mobile banner (320×50).

However, if you are using Responsive Template/Theme for your site or blogger blog then you may try for responsive AdSense Ad format which fits for all Ad spaces on your webpage irrespective of your visitor’s device.

5) Show AdSense Ads in the right place to increase CPC Rates

Well! It is very difficult to find out which place to be used for displaying AdSense Ads that result higher CPC. I opines that you should place at least one AdSense Ad Unit codes above the fold and second one just after/below the post/articles end and last one either on sidebar or footer. Please note that you should never place your all three Ad unit code in one place. Read this tutorial which may help you to find the right place for showing AdSense Ads: Insert AdSense Ad Unit codes in the right place of your Blog.

6) Use only one Advertising Network to increase CPC Rates

There are many online advertising networks like Yahoo! Bing Network Contextual Ads program powered by Media.net, Infolinks, Clicksor, BuySell Ads etc. But, you should avoid other advertising networks for better AdSense CPC rates. This is because, advertisers choose the network which costs less for them to appear on your site.

7) Visitors Location and CPC rates

In my opinion the CPC rates also depends on the location of your site users. As AdSense shows the Ads that are related to the users i.e. relevant ads shall come from the advertisers located in their country. And after analysis of my CPC rates for last one year I may conclude that advertisers coming from countries like United States, Canada, Germany, Australia, Netherlands, Saudi Arabia, United Kingdom, Spain, Albania and Iraq are paying more for a single click in compare to other countries like Thailand, Bangladesh, Colombia, France, Tanzania, Turkey, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, Nepal and India.

8) Utilize AdSense Allow and Block ads facility to get higher CPC Rates

Now, AdSense team has given a wonderful facility named ‘Allow and Block Ads’ for their publishers. Accordingly, you have now the option to choose which particular Ad is to be shown on your site. Blocking Ads will take effects within an hour.

Actually, whenever you block a particular Ad network or Ads, bidders/advertisers are informed immediately the types of ads you don’t wish to see on your website so that they only provide ads relevant to your webpage. This will increase number of bids in real time for your inventory resulting higher CPC rates. Note that blocking Ads may also impact negatively on your ultimate AdSense revenue.

9) Change the Layout of your Site to increase CPC Rates

Every website owner wants to build a site which looks totally different from other site i.e. the blog/site should be unique. Further, they also allot different slot for the AdSense Ads in accordance with their own preferred space. Many of them get confused what should be the layout of their blog that fits for Google AdSense. Google AdSense has provided a standard layout for showing advertisements and therefore you may change the layout of your site accordingly.

According to best practice for ad placement as prescribed by AdSense, the site layouts that highlight content shall be regarded as good example rather the site layout that pushes content below the fold. Thus, you should not place your all three AdSense ads above the fold. This practice may increase CPC rates for Ads that has been placed close to the content that your site visitors/users are interested in.

10) Know Your Customer to get Higher CPC rates

Know your customers/visitors i.e. ask them whether they got the things they are looking for on your site/blog. They are the real key to increase CPC as because more visitors more page views resulting more impressions and bidding price that ultimate increase the CPC rates of your AdSense Ads.

11) Niches and Keywords that affects CPC Rates

You can’t ignore the fact that Google AdSense is mainly for content ads and therefore the niche and topics of your site may impact on the CPC rates of AdSense Ads. Don’t worry you need not search for and buy the highest paying keywords. Just visit your Google Analytics account which has been linked from your Google AdSense account and under Acquisition menu click on Keyword to see the organic keywords used by users to reach your blog/site. Now, you may filter the highest CPC keywords after exporting all keyword report to MS-Excel document.

12) Write Quality Contents to boost CPC Rates

Suppose a site having lots of posts and many visitors but they are getting lowest CPC rates for their AdSense Ads in compare to other site which have not so much visitors and webpages. The reason behind lowest CPC is that the first site is doing copy paste contents from other blog/site rather their own original/creative contents.

Actually, whenever you are posting your article or contents online they are crawled by search engine like Google, Bing/Yahoo and Ask etc. And later on someone has just copy the contents from the original source without giving a credit to them.

Accordingly, most of search engines does not either prefer to index their contents or it may be regarded as low quality contents. And as an advertiser why should you bid for the duplicate contents and therefore it causes lowest CPC rates for the AdSense publishers. Hence, try to give your best for writing original and quality contents for your blog/site so that advertisers bids for getting an Ad slot on your webpage by paying highest CPC rates.

13) CPC Rates depends on your site Domain Name

Domain name of a site is one of the key factors upon which CPC rates may depends. This is because domain name tells the about the contents of your website. So, please choose domain name wisely that relates your site contents and keywords. However, it does not affect CPC rates so much as compared to other factors like quality contents and niche of your site.

14) Use Responsive Template/Theme to increase CPC rates

Yes, you have to accept the facts that now-a-days most of internet users uses their mobile/cell/smart phones and tabs instead of PC (Personal Computer) for searching and browsing the things they are interested in. And as we know that more users more ad impressions that results paying high CPC rates. Therefore, you should use responsive template for your blog or website.

15) Experiment A/B Testing

Sometimes without knowing the effect just do something new as you think fit to increase Google AdSense CPC rate. Finally, it’s upon you to make A/B testing with your sites, AdSense Ads and other factors that impact positively on the CPC rates.

Thus, you do not have to afraid of decreasing your revenue due to lower CPC rates. Just follow the above guidelines and increase your CPC rates. Please don’t forget to share your own personal experience with me and let me know if any of the above tips helps you to get higher AdSense CPC rates.


Increase AdSense Earnings by Showing Ads in All Blogger Pages

It’s not only the traffics to your Blogger Blog but you should also use some tricks and techniques to boost your AdSense earnings and one of those tips is displaying AdSense Ads in all your blogger blog pages. This tutorial will show you the simple technique to increase your AdSense impressions with the same traffics to your BlogSpot.com blogs.

Most of blogger wants to display their AdSense advertisements either before/above or after/below their blog posts. However, the way they insert their AdSense Unit code does not show Ads on all blogger pages rather it only shows on item pages or Article/posts webpage.

Accordingly, new bloggers losing their 20-25 per cent AdSense impressions or clicks as a result of which they innocently makes less earnings from AdSense than what they deserve to earn from the same traffics to their blogger blog.

So, what are you looking for, just follow these steps and boost your AdSense earnings by showing advertisements on all blogger webpages i.e. Item, Home and Static pages, Archive or Index etc. Additionally, this simple tips will also help you to show the AdSense Ads on Responsive Blogger Template including both Desktop templates view as well as mobile template view of your blogger blog.

A) How to show AdSense Ads above the Blog Post and Page Titles:

If you are not showing AdSense Ads above the webpage title then use this steps and I am sure that your AdSense earnings will drastically increase.

Step-1:
Go to the Template Editor of your blog.

Step-2:
Find ]]></b:skin> and paste the following CSS codes before/above closing ]]></b:skin> tag.

.swt-adsense-ads {/* Added by Showeblogin */
margin:1em auto;
clear:both
/* SWT Tutorial at http://www.superwebtricks.com/?p=623 */}
Step-3:
Now, find starting <div class='post-outer'> tag. You will see it twice into your blogger template. The first one is for desktop template view and the next i.e. second is for mobile template view. You will have to copy and paste these HTML codes after/below the starting <div class='post-outer'> tag.

<b:if cond='data:post.isFirstPost == &quot;true&quot;'>
<div class='swt-adsense-ads'>
AdSense Ad Unit Codes Here
</div>
</b:if>
Please do not forget to replace (AdSense Ad Unit Codes Here) with your own AdSense Unit codes.

B) How to show AdSense Ads above or beginning of the Blog Post/page contents/body:

AdSense-Ads-above-post-contents

Step-1:
Go to the Template Editor of your blog.

Step-2:
Find ]]></b:skin> and paste the following CSS codes before/above closing ]]></b:skin> tag.

i) To show AdSense Ads on the left side of your blog item contents:

.swt-adsense-ads {/* Added by Showeblogin */
position: relative;
float:Left;
margin:0 10px 10px 0;
/* SWT Tutorial at http://www.superwebtricks.com/?p=623 */}
ii) To show AdSense Ads on the right side of your blog item contents:

.swt-adsense-ads {/* Added by Showeblogin */
position: relative;
float:Left;
margin:0 0 10px 10px;
/* SWT Tutorial at http://www.superwebtricks.com/?p=623 */}
Step-3:
Find closing <data:post.body/> tag and paste the following HTML codes just above/before it. Actually, you will see <data:post.body/> in more than two places into your blogger template, the first one is for Mobile template view and another i.e. second one is for Desktop template view. Thus, paste these codes before/above the first and/or second closing post body tag of your blogger blog.

<b:if cond='data:post.isFirstPost == &quot;true&quot;'>
<div class='swt-adsense-ads'>
AdSense Ad Unit Codes Here
</div>
</b:if>
Please do not forget to replace (AdSense Ad Unit Codes Here) with your own AdSense Unit codes.

C) How to show AdSense Ads below or at the end of the Blog Post/page contents/body:

AdSense-Ads-below-post-contents

If you want to show your AdSense at the end of your blog posts and other blogger webpage then follow Step-1 and Step-2 of heading B as mentioned above and then in step-3 just paste the HTML codes below/after the closing <data:post.body/> tag instead of above/before.

Analysis of AdSense Revenue with Responsive Screen Resolutions

In this digital world, a biggest change in mobile search results has been made on April 21, 2015 (My First Marriage Anniversary) by the apex authority of online contents i.e. Google. No one can ignore the updates made by Google as it is the world’s most popular search engine with a market share of 65.73 percent (NetMarketShare.com) as of April, 2015. Moreover, it also holds 90+ percentage of global mobile search.

Search Engine Global Market Share

Global Mobile Search Percentage

Did you know? Starting April 21, 2015, this mobile-friendly update will boosts mobile search rankings for webpages which are mobile-friendly i.e. sites which uses responsive template/theme. Thus, if you are not using responsive templates for your sites then you may lose potential customers or visitors.

Despite of the above fact if a webpage contains the high quality content (even it is not mobile-friendly), it could still rank high in SERPs. But, I don’t find any reason for not building your site for mobile users. See the screenshot of increasing trend for live mobile users of my site.





Live Mobile Visitors

From the above screenshot you notice that average 45 percent of visitors comes from high-end mobile devices.

Now come to the point that if you have approved Google AdSense account, you may earn some extra dollars by showing advertisements in your multi-screen websites. I have managed to make all my client’s blog/site responsive and during the implementation, I got some relevant points which may help you to increase your AdSense income.

Accordingly, I am discussing with all of you some relevant points relating to responsive websites and AdSense earnings. So, please read the following AdSense multi-screen strategies and boost your AdSense earnings:

1) Make Your Site Responsive for all device

As I already explained it very clear with all of you that if your site is multi-device supported, you will get at least 1/3 extra visitors for your site. And you know the simple thumb rule that-

More Users = Additional Impressions = Extra Earnings.

To make your website responsive, please analyse your Google Analytics data and choose the proper resolution for your site. It helps you lot to know which screen resolution is used by your site visitors.

Step-1: Login to your Google Analytics account and navigate the Reporting (Top Menu) linked to your website.

Step-2: Click on Technology (Browser & OS) under Audience sidebar menu.

Step-3: On the displayed report you will see the name of browsers used by visitors to your website along with various data in different columns.

Step-4: Click on Screen Resolution from the Primary dimension (see screenshot below) to get screen resolutions of your site users in descending order.

Analytics Screen Resolution Report

Now, you will be able to decide which media screen query should be used to create your site’s responsive template in more effective manner and dynamic ways. However, if you are unable to decide best screen resolution for your website, please contact me for further help.

2) Maximum Allowed AdSense Ads in a Responsive Site

This is very important phase because I personally notice that most of my clients makes mistake unknowingly and they never realise its bad impact on their AdSense earnings. Moreover, it may boost your earnings if followed properly otherwise may result in disabling your AdSense account.

Take an example of a blogger who have a WordPress/Blogger blog. He has started his blogging career by using either a simple or responsive template/theme in his WordPress/BlogSpot blog. After sometime he got his Google AdSense account approved for his site and place the AdSense Ad Unit code into templates.

He know very well that he can only place upto THREE standard ad unit in his site besides up to THREE link units and TWO search boxes. Hence, he can insert upto 8 AdSense Ad unit codes into a single webpage. But, he does not know the fact that only ONE large (i.e. 300×600, 300×1050, 970×250, 750×200 and 580×400 etc.) ad unit is allowed per webpage.

Additionally, he also missed the Ad limit per page for mobile sites. As per Ad implementation policies of Google AdSense, you may not display two or more AdSense ads on the screen at the same time on a mobile site. That means you are not allowed to place more than one standard ad unit for each and every page of your mobile friendly blogs/sites.

In other words, you may insert maximum 1 AdSense for content units, up to 3 link units and up to 2 search boxes in your mobile sites. But, I recommend all of you to place only ONE AdSense for content units and ONE link unit code and ONE search box into your mobile sites. If, you want further clarification make your comments and opinion below.

3) How to show AdSense Ads in your Multi-Screen site

Those website owners who uses separate sites for mobile and desktop users may easily comply with the Ad implementation guidelines of Google AdSense by inserting Ad unit code in accordance with the limit specified. However, if you are using responsive template for your website then you have to make some extra efforts for your mobile optimized (multi-screen) websites.

After the above discussion, I think you are now familiar with the restrictions made by Google AdSense for showing Ads in your mobile sites. Now, with the help of some HTML and CSS codes we will be able to comply the policy of Google AdSense. Here is the step by step guidelines to show AdSense Ads in your mobile supported sites:

Step-1: Login to your AdSense account and create Ad Unit.

Step-2: Paste your AdSense ad unit codes into Ad slot in your site by adding the following div class along with your all AdSense ad unit codes.

<div class="swtads adsformobile">
Replace this line with your AdSense Code
</div>
After successful adding the div class your ad codes will looks something like this:

<div class="swtads adsformobile">
<script async src="//pagead2.googlesyndication.com/pagead/js/adsbygoogle.js"></script>
<ins class="adsbygoogle"
style="display:block"
data-ad-client="ca-pub-xxxxxxx"
data-ad-slot="xxxxx"
data-ad-format="auto"></ins>
<script>
(adsbygoogle = window.adsbygoogle || []).push({});
</script>
</div>
Now, remove the term “adsformobile” from the particular AdSense Ad Unit code which you want to show for your mobile users.

Step-3: Finally paste these CSS codes into your website so that your multi-screen sites will display only one AdSense Ad for mobile visitors.

.swtads{ margin:1em auto;
clear:both}
@media only screen and (max-width:500px){
.adsformobile {display:none}
}
The above code will add some extra margin below and above Ads and prevent to displaying more than one AdSense ads for mobile visitors. Make your comments below to know more about these codes if you have some query.

4) How to see the AdSense Earning Report for Responsive Sites

After successful inserting AdSense Ad Unit Code into your multi-screen sites, you may now want to know the earnings from all platforms viz. Desktop, Tablets and mobile devices. There are two options to see the earning reports for your responsive sites.

4A) AdSense Earning Report through AdSense Account

Login to your AdSense account and click on Performance report menu from the top. Now, choose Platforms from the drop down options next to the report type as shown in this screenshot.

AdSense Earnings Platforms Report

4B) AdSense Earning Report through Google Analytics Account

The best part of this report is that you will be able to see which particular Webpage, City, screen resolution, Source/Medium, Hostname, Day/Time and Browser etc. is performing well for increasing your AdSense earnings.

Thus, follow these steps to see the detailed reports of AdSense Ads Clicks, revenue, CTR, eCPM, Impressions and page impressions etc. for your responsive websites. Note that to see your AdSense report through Google Analytics account you should have to link your AdSense and Analytics Properties. If you have not yet linked the same, please link the both account or contact me for help.

Step-1: Login to your Google Analytics account

Step-2: Click on the Reporting top menu

Step-3: Now, click on Behavior from the left sidebar menu and then select AdSense Pages under AdSense sub-menu. This will show you which webpage of your site performs well for your AdSense Income. You may also choose Overview or AdSense referrers for your earning reports.

Step-4: Click on All Sessions and click on check box to select any particular session for which you want to see the AdSense earnings and then Apply it.

There are about 21 different sessions available in the Google Analytics account viz. Bounced Sessions, Converters, Direct Traffic, Made a Purchase, Mobile and Tablet Traffic, Mobile Traffic, Multi-session Users, New Users, Non-bounce Sessions, Non-Converters, Organic Traffic, Paid Traffic, Performed Site Search, Referral Traffic, Returning Users, Search Traffic, Sessions with Conversions, Sessions with Transactions, Single Session Users, Tablet and Desktop Traffic and Tablet Traffic.

Most of my clients want to know their AdSense earning reports from the sessions, I already bold the same. But, I personally recommend you to analyse all sessions as because it will help you a lot to make analysis and future decisions for increasing your revenue from AdSense Ads.

Step-5: Click on the AdSense Revenue and select any option to Explore the AdSense earnings accordingly. Through this option you will be able to explore the report of AdSense Ads Clicked, AdSense CTR, AdSense eCPM, AdSense Impressions etc.


Step-6: Click on the Secondary Dimension and select any dimension for which you want to see the earnings report. There are 8 dimensions viz. Acquisition, Advertising, Behavior, Custom Variables, Ecommerce, Social, Time and Users. For better option just click on the check box to display dimensions as alphabetical list.

Hence, you will now see and analyse the AdSense earnings with your responsive screen resolutions.

How to change or convert AdSense Ad Codes for BlogSpot Blogs

There are mainly three ways to insert your Google AdSense Ad Code into BlogSpot .com blogs viz. a) Clicking on the “Earnings” tab in your blog dashboard; b) Through AdSense widgets; and c) Adding ad code directly into HTML/JavaScript Gadgets, posts, pages and templates.

As we know that the Google AdSense is fully integrated with Blogger. But, I surprised why my AdSense Ad units code was not showing the Advertisement within my own Google AdSense approved blogger blog itself.

Whenever I tried to insert the ad code directly into blogger template, it results either blank space or showing XML (Extensible Markup Language) and HTML error message like:

When try to Preview Template:

“Could not load template preview: Error parsing XML, line 835, column 15: Attribute name “async” associated with an element type “script” must be followed by the ‘ = ‘ character.”

When try to Save Template:

“Your template could not be parsed as it is not well-formed. Please make sure all XML elements are closed properly. XML error message: The content of elements must consist of well-formed character data or markup.”

After scratching my mind half an hour, I come to know the fact that we can’t directly insert Google AdSense Ads code inside the blogger templates through EDIT HTML feature in blogger blog. We have to change the code using a simple trick by just replacing only the three special characters into string text formats:

The left angle bracket (<) replace with (&lt;)

The right angle bracket (>) replace with (&gt;)

The double-quote character (“) replace with (&quot;)

You may however use our one click HTML/JavaScript parser encoder tool to get rid of errors while changing AdSense code for your blog.

Mobile Traffic Monetization with Page-level Ads by AdSense

If you have an approved Google AdSense account and you are searching for different ad format to monetize your responsive website contents, then you should try a new ad format Page-level Ads by AdSense. In other words, you may now use Anchor or Overlay ads and Vignette Ads format besides standard ad size of Google AdSense.

You need to place same Page-level Ad code only once on each page that you want to show the ads and AdSense will automatically show Anchor or Overlay ads and Vignette Ads at optimal times and provide a good experience for your users.

It is a part of AdSense’s next generation ads that are designed to display automatically at the right time and in the right format. Did you know? The best part of Page-level ad is that you will show additional ads on your site that don’t count towards your AdSense per page ad limit. So, get started with AdSense Page-level ads today.

Why should I enable AdSense Page-level Ads?

This is most common question that why should you implement Page-level ad on your website where you have already placed responsive AdSense codes. You will get your answer after reading the features of this new ad format. Google Page-level Ads includes the following two ad formats viz. 1) Anchor/Overlay ads; and 2) Vignette Ads.

1) Anchor or Overlay Ads:
Anchor or Overlay Ads will stick to the edge of your site visitor’s high-end mobile device screen. In other words, these ads serve on mobile optimized webpages only. This Ad format shall not violate AdSense policy of implementing only three ads per webpage.

However, users may easily dismiss the same that means it provide good user experience. Note that the Anchor Ads are shown by AdSense automatically at optimal times to help increase your AdSense earning.

2) Vignette Ads:
Vignette ads are another ad format that appear on the full-screen of your user’s high-end mobile devices between page loads on your site. However, your site users can skip this AdSense ad at any time. This ad format doesn’t count towards your three ads per page limit.

This ad format shall also be shown by AdSense at optimal times to help increase your revenue. To provide best user experience, vignette ads are limited for per user and displayed when the user leaves a page, rather than when they arrive on one, so the user doesn’t have to wait for them to load.

Thus, there are mainly two reasons to implement AdSense Page-level Ads on your responsive site. The best reason is that Page-level ads will be displayed automatically when they’re likely to perform well and provide a good user experience. And the another reason to place Page-level ad on your site is that it should not be counted towards AdSense Ad Unit limit per page policy.

How to set up Page-level Ads by Google AdSense

Follow these simple steps to enable Page-level ads (Overlay and Vignette Ads) to appear on the pages of your mobile optimized site:

Step-1: Sign in to your AdSense account and click on My ads tab.
Step-2: Then click Page-level adsBETA under Content in the sidebar.
Step-3: Now, you may use the controls (toggling the switch) to select which ad formats (Anchor/overlay/Vignette) you’d like to show on your site as shown in this screenshot.

Step-4: Thereafter, just scroll down to section which says Add the code for Page-level ads to your pages. Click on Get code. Now, copy the Page-level ad code and paste it in the <head> tag (or at the top of the body) of your site or the pages where you want to show the ads.

<script async src="//pagead2.googlesyndication.com/pagead/js/adsbygoogle.js"></script><script>
(adsbygoogle = window.adsbygoogle || []).push({
google_ad_client: "ca-pub-xxxxx",
enable_page_level_ads: true
});
</script>

Same Ad Code for every Webpage and Site:
You only need to paste the same Page-level- Ad code everywhere you want to show advertisements irrespective of number of sites you own and webpages of your blog. In other words, the ad code is the same for every page on every site where you want to show Page-level ads.

After you’ve pasted the ad code, you can still make changes to your Page-level ads settings at any time without having to change the ad code. That means you won’t need to change the code even if you adjust your Page-level ads settings.

How to test AdSense Page-level ads on Mobile Optimized Sites

Page-level Ads Preview Tool:
As we know that Page-level Ads will be displayed only at optimal time, the Google AdSense team has provided a facility for testing Page-level Ads on your site. There is simple trick to check whether Overlay Ads and Vignettes Ads are showing on your mobile friendly site.

To check that Page-level ads are working correctly, just add #googleads to the end of the URL of the webpage you have pasted the Ad code. For Example: Visit my site at http://www.superwebtricks.com/#googleads on your mobile device.

Now, Anchor Ads will be displayed by default on the test screen. You may select another format i.e. Vignettes to test on your mobile phone to preview. To show vignettes ads, you have to click on the highlighted links on webpage. Capable link count shall be displayed on your preview screen.

However, the preview tool won’t highlight any links that contain a “stop” words that are typically navigation related, e.g., Log in or Log out, for which vignette ads aren’t shown. All links on the page that are capable of showing a vignette are marked in purple and outlined. Click on one to see the vignette advertisements.

If preview tool is not working on your device, then it may be due to the following reasons:

a) Place Ad Code: Make sure you’ve placed page-level ad code in the <head> tag on the pages you want to test;
b) Supported Mobiles: You are not using high-ended mobile device. Just refresh the page where you’re testing Page-level ads and it will work perfectly.
c) Portrait Mode View: You may have changed the orientation of your mobile device from portrait to landscape mode. Turning your device back to portrait mode should resolve the issues related to showing vignette ads on your site.

You may read complete guide to testing Page-level ads on your websites.

How to disable specific links from showing vignette Ads

If you want to stop vignette ads from showing on a specific link on your site, you may add data-google-vignette="false" to your anchor tag.

For Example:

<a href="superwebtricks.com/contact" data-google-vignette="false">Contact Us</a>

How to track Performance of AdSense Page-level Ads

To see the performance of AdSense Page-level advertisements on your mobile optimized sites, just follow these steps:

Step-1: Log in to your AdSense Account.
Step-2: Click on Performance reports tab.
Step-3: Now select Ad behavior report type as shown in this screenshot.




Now, the Page-level ads are shown under the “Anchor/overlays” and “Vignettes” labels in the performance report. If you have any query related to AdSense Page-level Ads, then please feel free to ask the same through comment below. You may share your experience after implementing this new format AdSense ad on your responsive site.

Install Google Publisher Toolbar to Control Live AdSense Ads

It was Thursday, January 19, 2012 when Inside AdSense (Google’s official blog for news, tips and information on AdSense) shared a new Chrome extension called the AdSense Publisher Toolbar. This toolbar is now known as Google Publisher Toolbar because it works not only with AdSense but also displays data from Google Analytics, Doubleclick Ad Exchange and Doubleclick for Publishers.

I always looking for great ways to control over my AdSense advertisements so that it only display more relevant ads for my site users and increase my earnings with genuine impressions and valid clicks. Google Publisher Toolbar is one the best way to control over the live AdSense Ads instantly while browsing your own site.

Firstly, I was totally confused with its name “Toolbar” because after successful installation, a small icon is added to the top right of my Chrome browser next to address bar and there was no toolbar there. However, when I click on that icon and enable Google AdSense I was surprised to see my lifetime earnings from AdSense program in a pop-up along with top performing ad units and sites.

Additionally, you will also be able to see your estimated revenue from AdSense for Today so far (current day), Yesterday (previous day), this Month (current month) and last Month i.e. the previous month.

On that account overlay pop-up, the top 5 custom channels or URL channels (Domains) will be displayed in descending order of revenue. You may change the date range (today, yesterday, 7 days, this month, and last month) by using the drop-downs. Therefore, I strongly recommend all of you who makes money online using AdSense to install this toolbar.





How to Install Google Publisher Toolbar

Step-1: If you have Chrome Browser then open it otherwise firstly install Google Chrome (A fast and free browser for computer, phone and tablets).

Step-2: Visit this page link in your chrome browser for downloading latest version of Google Publisher Toolbar
https://chrome.google.com/webstore/detail/google-publisher-toolbar/omioeahgfecgfpfldejlnideemfidnkc

Step-3: Click on the + Free button on the top right side and thereafter click on Add button from the opened pop-up to confirm new extension.

Step-4: After successful installation, a message “Google Publisher Toolbar has been added to chrome” will appear. You will see a Google Publisher Toolbar icon (a white line graph against a blue background) on the top right corner of your chrome browser.

Step-5: Now, login/sign in to the account (Gmail) associated with your AdSense account and click on that Google Publisher Toolbar icon to Enable the respective services viz. Google AdSense, DoubleClick for publishers, DoubleClick Ad Exchange and Google Analytics.


You will be asked for allowing this app and Google to use your information in accordance with their respective terms of service and privacy policies. Click on Accept button to grant the Google Publisher Toolbar access to your account and enjoy all features of this toolbar.

How to Allow Google Publisher Toolbar in the incognito browsing mode

If you want to access this publisher toolbar while browsing in private (incognito mode) then follow this simple process. From the top right corner on the chrome, click on Chrome menu icon (≡). Now, hover your mouse pointer over More Tools and click on Extensions. Locate the Google Publisher Toolbar and select the checkbox saying Allow in incognito to enjoy this chrome extension in incognito.

How to enable in-site Ad overlays in Google Publisher Toolbar

By default in-site feature is enabled for top websites associated with your currently signed in account. However, you can edit the sites listed there at any time and add the additional domain of the sites you own to authorize to show in-site ad overlays.

To add/edit domain for in-site ad overlay follow these steps:

Step-1: Click on the Publisher Toolbar icon which load your Account Overview.
Step-2: Click gear icon from top right and then from drop-down menu click on sites.
Step-3: Now, you may add or remove domain names of your own sites to authorize to show ad overlays.

Whenever, you visit your site in Google Chrome, you will see in-site ad overlays. Each ad overlay displays information about the AdSense ad of the Ad Unit placed on the particular webpage. You will see the Ad size, advertiser/buyer name and Display URL. However, if you have placed Ad links unit then it will display only the ad unit name.

In other words, the Google Publisher Toolbar adds an overlay to each of your Google AdSense ads, which provides some nice data about the ad, including its size, display URL and the advertiser name.

Clicking on the Google Publisher Toolbar icon generates your Account Overview within a pop-up that provides wonderful informative summary which includes:

1) Estimated AdSense earnings for today, yesterday, this month or last month.
2) The top five channels or top five websites in descending order of revenue for today, yesterday, 7 days, this month and last month.
3) Additionally, if you are browsing your site then it displays Ads on this page with lots of details.

Publisher-Tool-displays-AdSense-Ads-on-page

You may click either on colored icon or bullseye to scroll straight to the respective ad on that page. After one click on pop-out icon there you may point out the particular ad unit and second click will load Ad Details window.

Why and How to block unwanted AdSense Ads using Publisher Toolbar

Suppose your site is mainly useful for students and contents are related to study. But, an ad banner of a company (AdWords advertiser) which mainly deals in shoes appears on your educational site. In my opinion it is not relevant ad for an educational blog/site.

To block that unwanted ad, you have to leave your site and sign in to your AdSense account. That means you have to investigate which ad or URL to block under ad review section of Allow & Block ad tab menu.

But, with the help of Google Publisher Toolbar, if you notice that an ad appears on your site which is not relevant for your website contents or users then you may take immediate action to either block that particular ad or ads from specific URL or Google certified ad network as a whole.

Accordingly, follow these simple steps to block unwanted/irrelevant ads while you are browsing your site.

Step-1: Visit your site in Chrome browser.

Step-2: Open Ad Details window by a single click on any particular in-site ad overlay which displays unsuitable ads for your users and you want to block it. The best part is that clicking on the ad overlay generated by this publisher toolbar won’t create invalid clicks.

In-Site-AdSense-Ad-Overlay

Step-3: After clicking on any ad overlay on your site, you will see various data on the opened ad details pop-up window related to that particular ad unit viz. Ad size, Ad requests, coverage, RPM, Clicks, buyer name, targeting type, Ad format, display URL and destination URL etc.

Under the ad preview, click the drop-down (Block this ad) and you will have three options to block that advertisement. Select any option to either Block ads for www.example.com or Block this ad or Block ads from Example Ad Network.

Step-4: Thereafter, click the Block button and once the block has been activated, the ad displays a red Blocked banner.

Remember one thing that blocking any ad will remove that advertiser from auction. That means it will reduce completion for appearing on your site in that ad space. As a result of which your AdSense earnings may be affected.


On the other hand, if you fill that particular ad is not family-safe or is inappropriate then you may also report that from the Ad details window. Just click the Report a problem with this ad drop-down and select the issue that you want to report. You may write any additional comment (if any) and thereafter click on Send to Google support.

You can also export ad details into an HTML file for future reference and use from the “Ad details” window. To export, click Export ad details from the top right corner of Ad details pop-up window.

How to get Google AdSense Approval for your Blog or Website

Each and every people in the world wants to monetize their precious time with the help of various resources either offline or online. If we talk about making money online then not a single person deny the fact that Google AdSense program is one of the best resource for earning handsome money from your Blogs, Websites, Mobile sites, Games, YouTube Videos and site search results etc.

Did you know? It was June 18, 2003 when Google launched advertising monetization program named Google AdSense which has now grown to include over 2 million publishers (including me) who earned more than $7 billion from AdSense in the year, 2012 alone.

Moreover, Indian AdSense Publishers will now get their AdSense earnings directly into their bank account through EFT payment system which has newly available to them with effect from March, 2014.

Now, come to the point that how to get Google AdSense Approval for your Blog or Website. Well! This is one of the frequently asked questions by our readers that why their application get rejected for Google AdSense.

Here is the extract of Email received from adsense-noreply@google.com by applicant for the subject – “Your AdSense application status”:-


Thank you for your interest in Google AdSense. Unfortunately, after reviewing your application, we’re unable to accept you into AdSense at this time.”

OR

If someone is already earning from YouTube videos, they may get email like this:-

“Thank you for your interest in expanding your Google AdSense account to implement ad code on your own website. Unfortunately, after reviewing your application, we’re unable to approve this application for the time being. Your existing AdSense account that allows you to show ads on partner sites is not affected by this disapproval.”

Most of the common reasons/issues for disapproval are:
Site does not comply with Google policies
Site does not comply with the Google AdSense program policies
Insufficient content (as explained in later para)
Site does not adhere to the Webmaster Quality guidelines
If you are one of those applicants whose AdSense application has been rejected again and again then please ask from yourself only one question:-

Why Should Someone visit your Site First?

I am sure you will get your answer and you will get your approved AdSense account thereafter. The good news is that now you will be able to immediate access to your AdSense account once you sign up. That means your website should provide a significant value to the users and it must give them a reason to find it first when searching for topics covered by your website.

How to participate in Google AdSense Program

Actually, there are some basic requirement for eligibility to participate in AdSense online program which has been briefly discussed hereunder:

A) Google Account:
I know that most of you have already Gmail account and if you haven’t then please create a Google account needed to sign in to AdSense. All information regarding acceptance, rejection, payments etc. in relation to AdSense will be mailed to your Gmail account by Google AdSense Team.

You should always be careful while providing your personal details at the time of creating a new Google Account. This is because if you will provide wrong information like Full Name, Age and Address etc. then your application might be rejected by AdSense team.

B) Age Requirement:
In accordance with the AdSense Terms and Conditions, applicants must be at least 18 years of age. Thus, if you are not 18 years old then you will not be able to participate in Google AdSense irrespective of satisfying all other conditions.

In that case there is a simple trick that you may provide your parents or guardian name instead of yours at the time of making application (see the procedure below) while signing up for AdSense Program.

C) Blog or Website:
Yes! If you are running your own website then it is OK otherwise you should have to create one free Blog with Blogger.com to monetize the contents on your Blogger Blogs or Websites. However, if you have more than one blog/site then please provide the address of your best site which comply all conditions mentioned as under.

1) Website/Blog Ownership:

It is compulsory to have your own site or blog so that you can access the HTML source code to place the AdSense Ad Units code which displays Ads on your site. Otherwise your AdSense account shall not be approved on final review made by AdSense team.

It is not mandatory that you must have a custom domain for your blogger blog but I strongly recommend you to purchase a domain preferably top level domain like aubsp.com, and example.net etc. for your BlogSpot.com blogs.

2) Website/Blog Contents:

Think as an advertiser’s point of view that why you will go for a site which has not quality contents. Remind one thing that AdSense works by crawling the contents of each and every single webpages on your blog/site.

i) Post Quality: I mean every webpage contain enough textual contents to complete the whole story and topic you are willing to s pread online. This will make happy to your blog readers because they gets complete information and answer for which they have visited your site.

Note that you may not fix the length of any post which results quality contents for Google AdSense. However, I personally opines that an article written within 500-800 words is more than enough instead of writing too short post with just 100-150 words.

ii) Post Quantity: If you want to get one short approval for AdSense program then please make sure you post at least 3-5 posts on weekly basis unless and until your blog/site get approved by AdSense Team.

Google has not specified any magic number of posts to be required for AdSense approval. But, in my opinion if your blog have more than 25 good quality articles then your blog is ready for applying for AdSense.

It is the quality and not the quantity of your blog posts which AdSense team consider at the time of reviewing your blog/site for AdSense approval.



iii) Insufficient content: Your webpages should have sufficient text, I mean to say maximum text with complete sentences and paragraphs, not only headlines. This is because if your site contain mostly images and videos then your application will not be approved.

iii) Original Contents: Your site contents must be original and not a copy paste from other website/blog or anywhere else. Therefore, you should not use copyrighted material in any manner on your site. If you are using any copyrighted textual contents, images, videos etc. then it violate AdSense content policy. Some webmasters uses images for their posts either from Search Engine Result Pages (SERPS) or other sites without

iv) Regularly Updated Contents: Suppose someone has posted 50 posts in a single day or week to get approved for AdSense and thereafter not posted a single post within week or even a month.

Thus, please keep updating/posting on your blog on regular basis so that your approved AdSense Account will not disapprove or disable within a short span of time.

3) Website/Blog Age:

To ensure the quality contents and keeping in mind the interest of Google Advertisers, Google AdSense has specified that the Indian and Chinese AdSense Publishers required to have owned their sites for at least 6 months. Accordingly, except India and China, there is no any minimum age obligation for either blogger blog or website to participate in Google AdSense Program.

However, you have to ensure that your website is live and not in a beta mode or  under construction phase before you apply for AdSense Program. Thus, placing ad code on a website which is not fully launched or only consist a website template will not get final approval.

4) Website/Blog Language:

You may write your site or BlogSpot.com blog in so many languages. However, AdSense Program is not available for all languages including HINDI (supports w.e.f. Dec 2014), Bengali, Gujarati, Panjabi, Telugu, Afrikaans, Irish, Latin etc. and therefore the primary language of your site must be in the AdSense supported languages.

5) Traffic sources:

Your blog/site traffics must come from the genuine sources. In other words, if you got the visitors through Search Engines, Social media and feed subscribers then it is good for the AdSense approval.

But, if you send bulk SMS, Email with your site links or asked your friends/relatives/students at large to daily visit your blog without any interest then it will impact badly on your site. Further, if your blog is not receiving at least 25-30 unique visitors per day then please wait for some time to get more organic traffics on your site and then apply.

I strongly recommend you to sign in to Google Analytics and Webmaster tools which help you to understand your blog/site contents, live visitors, unique page views, and traffic sources in dynamic ways.

D) Non-Google Ads:
You are free to use any third party advertisements on the same blog or webpage for which you are going to apply AdSense Program. In other words, there is no restriction to display Google Ads on your blog having Ads from Infolinks, BuySellAds, Clicksor, Chitika, Amazon Associates, Media.net etc.

However, you should make sure that your site does not contain many third party advertisements. This is because your site will looks like advertisement based rather contents based and that type of website does not qualify for AdSense.

E) Apply for AdSense Program:
Now, you are ready to Sign up for AdSense Program. There are two-step application approval process under AdSense program.

1) Sign-up and Place ad units: Google has now made signing process more faster and easier with effect from Thursday, October 08, 2015. So, you may click here to sign up for your AdSense account and get instant access to your AdSense account.

After log in to your AdSense account, you should create and place your first AdSense Ad Units code on your blog/site. If you a blogger user you may use our encode decode tool to convert ad unit code before using on your blogger blog.

Note that this will not display any Ads on your live webpage rather it shows only blank ad units until your will get fully approved AdSense account. Earlier, you would have to wait for some days or weeks for the preliminary checks to verify the information provided at the time of submitting your AdSense application. And after verification of your information (Your Name, Address and Blog/site URL etc.) , you were able to create your first AdSense Ad Unit.

2) Final Approval: Now, you will get response within 24 hours from specialists of Google AdSense Team regarding the final status of your application after you add the code to your site.

However, this process may takes 1-2 days. Did you know? Previously, the same process was completed after  5-7 days. Finally, you will receive an email letting you know that your AdSense account has been approved. Otherwise, you’ll receive an email on your registered Email ID explaining the disapproval reason and the possible next steps that you can take to get approved account.

Once you got fully activated AdSense account, the Google Ads will appears on your approved website/blog and the red bar across the top of AdSense Account will disappear.

This month (May 2016) one of our client got an approved AdSense account for his 8 months blog. Please let me know, if you have got an approved AdSense account recently. Share your own experiences regarding AdSense account approval.

Please, feel free to ask any questions regarding Google AdSense Program through comments or you may directly Contact Sales of Google AdSense support team. Enjoy!

SEO Navigation Custom Pages for Blogger Not Found 404 Errors

Now a days, we are receiving lots of queries through our Contact Us page by our live visitors. And I took one relevant question every Sunday to discuss with all of you. Today, I will discuss about 404 blogger blog pages.

What is 404 errors?

In simple word, you may conclude that a webpage that does not exist on your blog/site commonly known as 404 errors page. That means if someone type a web address like http://YourBlogUrl.com/blablabla it results to 404 error page on your blog.

Why my blog gets 404 Errors and how can I prevent it

There are many reasons that results 404 errors page on your blogger blog. However, following are most common reasons which generates 404 error pages:

1) Existence of broken links on your blogger blog pages i.e. internal links.
If you are using Google webmaster tool then these links may help you to find out broken links returned when Googlebot attempts to visit a page that doesn’t exist on your blog. To check broken links, just replace my site URL with your own and visit these links.

For Desktop:
https://www.google.com/webmasters/tools/crawl-errors?siteUrl=http://www.superwebtricks.com/#t2=1





For Smartphone:
https://www.google.com/webmasters/tools/crawl-errors?siteUrl=http://www.superwebtricks.com/#t2=28

2) Presence of invalid links
There may be some invalid links of your blog on other’s websites that have links pointing to your blog page that actually does not exist on your blogger blog.

To see which sites are linking to your blog, visit this link by replacing my site URL with your own blog address:

http://www.google.com/search?q=link:www.SuperWebTricks.com

3) Existence of incorrect links
Either within an Email Newsletter/message or within a PDF/word documents i.e. an eBook.

4) Old or Wrong URLs
Typing wrong or old URLs on web browser address bar by your live visitors or a reader navigates to your blog page that’s temporarily down.

5) Deleted or Updated URLs
You may have deleted/ renamed any post/page URL from your blog without redirecting the old URL to a new blog post/page.

I think you have understand the actual meaning of 404 errors and the causes behind these Not Found Pages. Now, the question arises whether it will impact either on your site’s ranking in Google or user experience on your site/blog.

Simply, I opines 404 errors are normal part of any webpage and it does not impact on your site’s ranking and you can safely ignore those broken links. However, it may unnecessarily increase Crawl Errors and indexing wrong URLs of your blog by search engines.

Additionally, it may also impact badly on your user’s experience. This is because your visitors may landed on a 404 “Not found” page on your website and most of them may just surf away from your blog. They may not rely on your blog and therefore the trustworthiness of your blog will decrease accordingly.

Accordingly, you may have two solutions for those types of errors. First one is to find all 404 errors links which is next to impossible because you will never be able to control each and every links to your blog, or resolve all 404 errors listed in Webmaster Tools.

Second solution is to create a custom 404 page for your user and show something relevant to what they were looking for. Therefore, I strongly recommend all of you to not ignore 404 errors and create a useful custom page for Page Not Found (404 Errors) on your blog.

By default blogger displays a generic message on the Page Not Found page that you may see on your blog viz. “Sorry, the page you were looking for in this blog does not exist”.

If the above message is not shown by your blogger blog, then this may be due to your custom template or theme installed on your blog. To get the default message of blogger 404 errors not found page, follow these simple steps:

Step-1:
Login to your blogger account and go to the Template tab and then click on Edit HTML text menu.

Step-2:

Now, click on jump to widget drop down menu and select Blog1 from the option there. Thereafter click on Format template text button.

Step-3:

Now, you will that your mouse cursor is blinking just before Blog1. Now, search the following terms

<b:includable id='status-message'>

You will see the following default codes. If your blog does not exist these codes then replace the whole lines from <b:includable id=’status-message’> to </b:includable> with the following codes.

<b:includable id='status-message'>
<b:if cond='data:navMessage'>
<div class='status-msg-wrap'>
<div class='status-msg-body'>
<data:navMessage/>
</div>
<div class='status-msg-border'>
<div class='status-msg-bg'>
<div class='status-msg-hidden'><data:navMessage/></div>
</div>
</div>
</div>
<div style='clear: both;'/>
</b:if>
</b:includable>

HOW TO CUSTOMISE THE 404 NOT FOUND PAGE ON BLOGGER

HOW TO CUSTOMISE THE 404 NOT FOUND PAGE ON BLOGGER
16 FEB 2016 WEB + CODING BLOGGER

The not found page on Blogger is really boring and unhelpful. It doesn’t encourage your readers to visit other areas of your site or help them find something they are looking for. This tutorial will show you how to edit the content and design to make it more user friendly. If you want to have a look at your 404 not found page, the easiest way to get to it is to type 404 after your URL – http://yourblogname.blogspot.com/404/

edit 404 not found page on blogger

HOW TO ADD CONTENT TO YOUR CUSTOM 404 PAGE IN BLOGGER

1. Go to Settings > Search preferences, and click edit under Custom Page Not Found.

Customise 404 page blogger

2. Now you can add any message and HTML that you want, like so

<h2>Sorry, this page could not be found</h2>
<p>Try the search box below to find what you're looking for.</p>

<form id="searchThis" action="/search" style="display: inline; margin: 20px auto;" method="get"><input onfocus="if(this.value==this.defaultValue)this.value='';" value="Search this blog" type="text" id="searchBox" onblur="if(this.value=='')this.value=this.defaultValue;" vinput="" name="q" /> <input id="searchButton" value="Go" type="submit" /></form>
custom 404 error not found page blogger

USEFUL THINGS TO ADD

A simple link or a clickable button to direct readers to another page like your contact page.
Some popular blog topics using post labels or create a list of some popular posts.
A newsletter signup/optin..
A search box or social media icons
HOW TO EDIT THE DESIGN OF YOUR CUSTOM 404 PAGE IN BLOGGER

Want to edit the design to match your blog theme and branding? Here’s how to do that. First let’s take a look at Bloggers default code.

/* Blogger CSS for 404 Page
----------------------------------------------- */
.status-msg-wrap {
    font-size: 110%;
    width: 90%;
    margin: 10px auto;
    position: relative
}

.status-msg-border {
    border: 1px solid #000;
    filter: alpha(opacity=40);
    -moz-opacity: .4;
    opacity: .4;
    width: 100%;
    position: relative
}

.status-msg-bg {
    background-color: #ccc;
    opacity: .8;
    filter: alpha(opacity=30);
    -moz-opacity: .8;
    width: 100%;
    position: relative;
    z-index: 1
}

.status-msg-body {
    text-align: center;
    padding: .3em 0;
    width: 100%;
    position: absolute;
    z-index: 4
}

.status-msg-hidden {
    visibility: hidden;
    padding: .3em 0
}

.status-msg-wrap a {
    padding-left: .4em;
    text-decoration: underline
}
If there’s certain things you want to change, you’ll need to override it. To do this copy the above code and paste it into the CSS section of your blog (Template > Edit HTML > above ]]></b:skin>) then change the values to suit you.

ADD SOME CUSTOM STYLING TO CHANGE THE DESIGN OF THE MESSAGE

1. Go into the Template > Edit HTML and find ]]></b:skin>

2. Right above ]]></b:skin> add the following CSS

/* Custom 404 Page by XOMISSE
----------------------------------------------- */
.status-msg-wrap { /* style entire wrapper */ }
.status-msg-body { /* style div around text */ }
.status-msg-border { /* style border */ }
3. To give us a plain starting point we’ll add some CSS as shown below. This will remove the default CSS such as the border, change the background to white, change the width to 100%, remove top spacing and hides the repeat box.

/* Custom 404 Page by XOMISSE
----------------------------------------------- */
.status-msg-border {border: 0;}
.status-msg-body {background-color: #fff;}
.status-msg-wrap {width: 100%; margin: 0px auto;}
.status-msg-bg {background: transparent;}
change 404 error not found page blogger

4. Now you can continue to add to the CSS to suit your overall blog design. If you only want to style the 404 Page and not the breadcrumb “showing posts with label” message then use conditional tags to target only the error page.

Saturday 21 January 2017

Chitika Ad Reviews : Earning & Payment Methods

Bloggers have many options to monetize their blog. After writing reviews about Adversal, Infolinks, Bidvertiser, I have come up with Chitika Ad reviews. In this article, I will give you an overview of Chitika which is one of the popular alternative ad networks to AdSense. Chitika is a primary non-contextual advertising company. The best thing about Chitika is, it has a low minimum payout threshold. If you are a newbie blogger and have a blog with less traffic, Chitika is going to be one of those premium ad networks which will show quality relevant ads. If you have a high-quality blog, you can earn a great income from Chitika.

Chitika Ad Reviews – A Scam or Legit?

The first question that comes to mind while trying to use any method to monetize the blog is – Is it Scam or Legit? Chitika is a 100% legit company. Chitika is one of the oldest companies in online advertising space. It was founded in 2003. One of my friends is already earning a handsome amount from Chitika and he always gets payment on time. So it is not a scam but a legit company. Now I have also tried Chitika and about to reach the threshold soon. I will share my payment proof soon.

chitika ad reviews

How Chitika Works ?
Chitika can show relevant ads for a site with very few text and lot of video content. For instance, a visitor searched for some special keyword and comes to your website, the ads that appear on your website for this visitor, will be based on what the visitor was searched for. In the case of a direct view of the ad , they may show a blank one or an ad from answered questions dot com. You might already know it if you are a publisher of Chitika. Hence you can imagine if it will show ads relevant to your content, your CTR will be high and you can earn a good income from it.

Also Read: Infolinks Ads Reviews: Easy Way To Earn Money Online

Chitika Ad Reviews: Minimum Criteria to Join Chitika

There are no minimum criteria to join Chitika. Any newbie blogger or blog having less amount of traffic can also apply for Chitika and can get it approved easily. Joining with Chitika is easy as publishers and advertisers from all countries are accepted and there are no restrictions as to the minimum impressions of the site. They do not take much time to approve the account. Once you are approved, all you need to do is create ad zone and place the code in your blog. If you are not so tech-savvy and using WordPress, you can use their WordPress plugin to show Chitika ads on your blog.

You can sign up for Chitika using this link

Chitika Ad Reviews: Different Ad Formats Available

Chitika provides a wide range of ads to use on your blog including mobile ads which are a major requisite on today’s date. Chitika ads can be clubbed into below group

Banner ads — They are standard ad type. Chitika does not show banner ad but they show images with text.
Mobile ads – These days, a huge amount of traffic comes from Smartphones or mobiles. It is mandatory to provide ads that can be easily viewable in the mobile version without degrading the design or performance. Chitika stands by you in this case. These ads are displayed only if your website is viewed from the mobile device. The ads are displayed on depending upon the device, not the site. This means if a user browses your website using mobile device ads will show up. You do not have to create a mobile site for this. Entire mobile traffic of your website will get monetized.
In text ads — Chitika is CPC (Cost Per Click) based on text link ads. You may also have heard about In-Text advertising network such as Infolinks etc.
Hover ads — Hover ads are displayed on the bottom right corner of your website. They remain at that place while the visitor is scrolling down your website.
Highlight ads — Highlight ads get displayed when a user selects some text on your website. It will get displayed below the user selected text area.
Sample Sizes:

Chitika Ad Reviews Ad Types

Creating ads and customizing is very easy. After selecting your preferred ad size you can click on get the code to get the ad codes. You can embed that code to your blog to show ads.

Also Read: Adversal CPM ad Network Reviews – Alternative to Google Adsense

Chitika Payment Terms

As of April 14th, 2015, Chitika’s payment system will require a verified Paypal address for payment.Chitika has low minimum payout threshold. The minimum payment threshold is $10 if the payment method is PayPal.

Compatibility with Google Adsense

The good news here is – Chitika is compatible with Google Adsense. You do not have to make any changes to your Adsense layout nor to Chitika ads to make them work together. They are compatible out of the box. In fact, it is claimed that using Chitika along with Adsense increases earnings.

Also Read: BidVertiser Reviews – Earnings & Payment Methods

Chitika Support

Chitika support is fairly good. The usual response time from Chitika is within 24 hours which is very fast. Furthermore, they have a very good knowledge base


which answers so many questions.

Chitika Ads Reviews: A look at Publisher’s dashboard

Chitika provides a simple and easy platform to publishers to use it. Below snapshot includes the report section provided by Chitika. You can view and even save reports for whatever period you want (7 days, 14 days, 30 days, This Month, Last Month, Custom date). You can uncheck ‘Show Channels’ if you just want to view your earnings.

Chitika Ad Reviews - Publisher dashboard

Chitika Ad Reviews – Pros of Using Chitika

Low eligibility criteria.
Minimum payout is low (just $10)
Suitable for all the niche type.
Approval is easy
Different ad options including mobile types.
Can use alongside Adsense and other ad networks
Search targeted ads ensure that only relevant ads are shown to the visitor
Chitika support countries worldwide with their ad units
Auto-resizing mobile ads make monetizing mobile traffic very easy
Chitika Ad Reviews – Cons of Using Chitika

Shows ad mostly on traffic from search engine.
Less PPC in comparison to AdSense.
Traffic from referrals are not targeted very well and ads are displayed based on your main keyword or title.
Chitika Ad Reviews : Summary

Chitika Details

Network Type: CPC, PPC, CPM Pay-per-call for mobile ads
Chitika CPM, CPC, PPC Advertising Rates and Revenue: Average  $0.30 to $0.60, Highest $3
Minimum Payment Threshold: $10 for PayPal
Payment Frequency: Monthly, NET 30
Statistics Updated: Daily
Website URL: www.chitika.com
Also Read: AdsOptimal Review: is It Best CPM Ad Network?? (Sign Up now & get $15 as joining bonus)

Conclusion

At the end of the review, I would recommend giving Chitika a shot. It can be a fairly good choice for people who has product based blogs and also for general websites. Since they scan the search strings that we used to reach the website, they are able to outperform Adsense. Their payout is at 10$. Considering all this, Chitika is a good choice.

You can sign up for Chitika using this link

Simple But Effective Way to Find the High Paying Niches,Topics, Keywords

We all want to target high paying niches or topics on our next articles to increase the income. It is always beneficial if you use Google Adsense or CPM networks, because high paying keywords, topics, and search terms perform well in most of the ad networks. But how to find them?. Let me share a simple but effective way to find the higher paying CPC keywords for Google Adsense. It is highly recommended to consider this point when you write your next article if you are using Adsense. There is no point in getting more and more traffic but your blog’s earnings remain low or not increasing as expected.

I have earlier published a guide about how to increase the CPC (Cost Per Click) in Google Adsense. You may need to use some keyword research tools to find the higher paying keyword in the topic you are going to write. Even Google Adwords (and keyword planner) works very well to identify the good CPC keywords. But these tools including Google keyword Planner may confuse most of the new bloggers and look like a long procedure.

What’s The Simple Way to Find the High Paying Keywords?
It’s by Google search, yes, that’s right.

Doing a simple Google search can indicate the strength (in temrs of CPC cost and advertisers demand) of the particular keyword. Okay, this is not like other tools to show the estimated CPC value in dollars or other currency, but you can get an idea whether the keyword you searched is having potentiality to make money with more advertisers.

How This Helps?
This method will show you whether the particular keyword or search term is having more advertisers, more advertisers means more CPC, that means more money. I have already discussed the way how Google Adsense works and if more advertisers are targeting a particular keyword, then they will bid more and more to get the ad spot.

Here is the Way?
As said, its simple. Go to Google and search for the keyword you are thinking to target. Make sure you are not using any ad blockers in the browser. If you use ad blockers, it will block the Adsense ads on the search result.

Let us take this example, I’m thinking to write about “free mp3 download”. Simply search this keyword and see what’s coming up. Here is the search result of first page form the country I did the search.

no ads on less cpc keywordsNo Ads – means no advertisers, that means no money in this topic.

If Google is not showing any ads (or showing very less ads) on their first search result page, it is the clear indication that this topic/niche is may not profitable. Even if you write about this topic and get thousands of visitors monthly, the Adsense ad quality on these posts will be very less and cheap. Ultimately the CPC from these posts will be very less and your blog will not make considerable amount of income from Adsense.

How About Other Test?

Here is another example, I’m hoping it will be so different than the first example. Let’s think about ‘Windows hosting providers’ as our keyword for research.

more ads in higher cpc

I’m sure you can guess how its working now. The particular keyword shows more (I think the maximum ads on the first page) on Google search first page. More ads means more advertisers are bidding for particular keyword or topic. More advertisers means, definitely it will be higher CPC. If your content/post can show these type of ads, possibly you will be getting good CPC than our earlier example ‘free mp3 download’.

Read Also: How to Get great blog names for your next new blog

What’s Important Here
1) We discussed about higher CPC only, but we are still not aware of how much is the estimated CPC of particular keyword. To find that out, you need to use other keyword research tools like Google Adwords or LongTailPro

2) We identified the potential higher CPC keywords only, but the competition would be higher to target these keywords and get in to Google’s first search result page. To find out the competition strength, you can follow this simple post here.



Final Words
In short, this method would give the initial idea whether you should dig deeper of particular keyword or topic for your next post. The ‘Free mp3 download’ topic can be safely ignored since it doesn’t have enough (or any) advertisers. So, I do not want to waste time on finding more information about this topic, like the estimated CPC, analyzing competition, finding long tail keywords…etc. At the same time, the ‘Windows hosting providers’ keyword had thrown some lights as a potential keyword for my next article. Now I can dig deeper by doing other researches such as the estimated higher CPC, analyzing the competition and finding the long tail keywords. Basically, this method would be the first step you should follow to find your keyword before doing any other researches.

Hope this guide would be helpful, as usual I expect your comments and valuable thoughts.

How Long Takes to Earn First 100 Dollars from Adsense – Simple Calculation

After you have successfully joined the Google Adsense program, the next target for most of us is to reach the payment threshold 100$. When I started blogging and joined Adsense back in 2008, this was the question I asked in so many places on the internet. But I couldn’t find correct answer. 




Even now, it is difficult to predict and confirm the formula to make your first 100 dollars from Adsense. Because the earning from Adsense is completely different for every blog, topic, traffic source and country of the visitors. I have decided to put a simple formula which may give some ideas to understand how long you may take to earn your first 100 dollars.


UPDATE: I’m updating this post almost after 4 years with the learned lessons and the experience.


Below was the my first check from Google Adsense which took quite long time.


How Long Takes to Earn First 100 Dollars from Adsense


In my experience Google Adsense is one of the best program to make money from blogs till you become pro blogger to create your own product or start affiliate marketing. Getting the first payout 100 dollars is the very painful period for any bloggers. It took 29 months to reach 100 dollars in year 2010 for me ( Yes, I had some gaps in my blogging life), but now in 2014 my Adsense earning is far better.


Check my last month October 2014 earnings.


Ok, Lets go to the point. This is just an average calculation with assumption. None of the Adsense publishers are allowed to publish their details stats like RPM, CPC and CTR publicly which is against Google Adsense TOS.


There are three important factors involved in our below calculation which are CTR ( Click Through Rate), Page CPM( Cost Per Mile). RPM is new factor ( Revenue Per Mile), but we are not going to talk about it here. Each factor directly impact the final Adsense Earnings.  We are not considering CTR in this calculation, but I can say if you can increase your current CTR rate, that will boost the final earnings.


So, its all with CPM we are going to take here. Adsense CPM indicates how much you earn from every 1000 page impressions with Adsense ads (no matter how many ads on them)


So, if you earn 5$ from 2500 page impressions, your CPM is,


(5/2500)*1000 = 2$


You earn 2$ from every 1000 impressions.


How Longs Takes to Earn First 100 Dollars From Google Adsense

Here is the point, I can’t tell how much is the best CPM, it completely depends on your blog niche and traffic source.


In my experience and what I read from other blogs, 1.5$ to 2.5$ will be an ordinary CPM currently.


If its less than 1$, then you should improve and concentrate on increasing Google adsense income.


If you are getting around 3$ to 5$ CPM continuously every month, then you doing well, if it is more than 5$, then it is a great CPM rate.


In our case, we will take 2.5$ as average eCPM and to make the calculation easy, we will do it for first 105 dollars.


So, with 2.5$ eCPM to earn 105 dollars, you need 42,000 page impressions.


(1000/2.5)*105 = 42,000


This figure can be less or more for you, because it depends on type visitors, source of traffic and country of origin which make these impressions.


So, lets go to the next step.


When a visitor visits your blog, he or she checks average 1.5 pages on a blog.


To get 42,000 page impressions, you need 28,000 visitors.


(1/1.5) * 70,000 = 28,000


Again, this 28,000 visitors can be from direct, referral, social networking and search engines sources.


Mostly the search engine traffic users (who come from Google, Bing and Yahoo search) will be useful for any CPC programs including Google adsense. Because they are the new users and will possibly click the ads on your website. Your regular visitors and social networking users may not be interested on the ads showing up in your blog.


65% to 75% search engine traffic will be healthy for a blog in my opinion. In this example, we will take 70%.


So, in 28,000 visitors, you need 70% of organic traffic, which is 19,600 visitors


(70/100)*28,000 = 19,600 visitors from Search Engines


 


Wow, that’s a big number.

Now you can get rough idea based on your average CPM (Also called RPM) and daily search engine traffic to know when you will get the first 100 dollar adsense check.


I have updated few numbers and CPM rates now (compared to previous version of this guide in 2010). Because in my opinion, the potentially of making more money from Google Adsnese has been improved since 2010. There are lot of competitions and bidding among advertisers in Google Adwords market place. That enables bloggers like us to get higher earnings because of higer CPC ( Cost per Click).


If you are getting 100 average daily search engine traffic visitors, then it may take around 6 to 7 months to get your first 100 dollar from adsense.


But one thing, Your blog will not be getting the same 100 daily search engine visitors for next 6 months, it will increase when you update your blog with unique content regularly. So, once you blog properly with correct techniques, then you can reach 19,600 search engine visitors quickly and get your 100 dollars.



Finally, it all depended on your adsense optimization to get high CTR, CPC and CPM, organic traffic and keyword selection. But to know these techniques, it will take some time for new bloggers.

If you think this calculation is wrong, feel free to share the reason. Still if somebody is not making any money from adsense after this much traffic, the contact me. I will try to help you.

Have a nice blogging.